Sponsored Links

List of Postgraduate Courses Offered at COOU: 2024

Looking to pursue postgraduate studies at Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu University (COOU)? This guide provides a detailed overview of the postgraduate diploma, master’s, and doctorate courses offered across various faculties. Whether you’re interested in agriculture, arts, education, engineering, environmental sciences, law, management sciences, natural sciences, or social sciences, COOU has a diverse range of programs to choose from.

  1. Faculty of Agriculture:

    • Department of Agricultural Economics and Extension: Offers PGD, M.Sc, and Ph.D degrees in areas like Farm Management, Agricultural Finance, and Rural Sociology.
    • Department of Animal Science: Specializations include Animal Nutrition and Physiology.
    • Department of Crop Science and Horticulture: Areas of focus encompass Crop Physiology and Plant Breeding.
  2. Faculty of Arts:

    • Department of English: Choose from specializations like ESL, Literature, and Comparative Literature.
    • Department of Igbo: Specializations include Igbo Language and Culture.
  3. Faculty of Education:

    • Department of Educational Foundations: Offers PGDE and M.Ed degrees with specializations in Guidance and Counseling.
    • Department of Science Education: Specializations cover Guidance and Counseling and Educational Psychology.
  4. Faculty of Engineering:

    • Department of Chemical Engineering: Specializations include Materials Engineering and Petroleum Reservoir Engineering.
    • Department of Civil Engineering: Choose from Structural Engineering and Water Resources Engineering.
  5. Faculty of Environmental Sciences:

    • Department of Architecture: Specializations include Urban Design and Building Economics.
    • Department of Environmental Management: Focus areas include Transportation and Environment and Climate and Environment.
  6. Faculty of Law:

    • Specializations include Taxation Law and International Human Rights Law.
  7. Faculty of Management Sciences:

    • Department of Accountancy: Specializations cover Financial Accounting and Taxation.
    • Department of Banking and Finance: Focus areas include Money and Banking and Nigerian Financial System.
  8. Faculty of Natural Sciences:

    • Department of Biochemistry: Specializations cover Medical/Immunological Biochemistry and Environmental Biochemistry.
    • Department of Biological Sciences: Specializations include Biotechnology and Ecology.
  9. Faculty of Physical Sciences:

    • Department of Computer Science: Specializations include Information Technology and Social Networks.
    • Department of Geology: Specializations encompass Economic Geology and Hydrogeology.
  10. Faculty of Social Sciences:

    • Department of Economics: Offers M.Sc degrees with various specializations.
    • Department of Mass Communication: Specializations include Advertising and Public Relations.
    • Department of Political Science: Focus areas cover Political Theory and International Relations.
    • Department of Public Administration: Specializations include Human Resources Management and Public Financial Management.


Q1: How do I apply for postgraduate studies at COOU? A1: Visit the official COOU website for detailed application instructions and requirements.

Q2: Can I pursue a part-time postgraduate program? A2: COOU offers both full-time and part-time postgraduate programs. Check the specific program details for options.

Q3: What is the duration of the postgraduate programs? A3: The duration varies for each program. Refer to the official COOU postgraduate brochure for specific information.

Q4: Are there scholarships available for postgraduate students? A4: COOU provides information on available scholarships and financial aid options. Visit the financial aid section on the official website for details.


Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu University offers a wide range of postgraduate programs across diverse faculties. Whether you’re passionate about agriculture, arts, education, engineering, environmental sciences, law, management sciences, natural sciences, or social sciences, COOU provides opportunities for advanced studies in various specializations. To embark on your postgraduate journey, explore the official COOU website for detailed information and application procedures.

Sponsored Links

Leave a Reply

Back to top button